This article covers:

How to Delete Records

Most records in CaseFleet can be deleted with the following steps:

  1. Click the edit button (either a pencil icon or a button that says "Edit")

  2. Click the delete button at the bottom of the edit form

  3. Click the confirm button

Presto! Your record should be deleted. The following types of records can be deleted in this way: cases, issues, contacts, sources, and tasks.

Note: Issues, contacts, and source that are linked to one or more existing facts cannot be deleted from the case unless they are first removed from all associated facts.

CAUTION: Deleting records in CaseFleet is irreversible

There is no "undelete" option or recycle bin to restore deleted records in CaseFleet. Further, deleting a record in your account will also remove all sub-records. For example, deleting a record like a case will cause all of its sub-records (such as facts and issues) to be deleted as well. Please delete with caution!

Deleting Facts

Facts are a little bit different. Use the following steps to delete a fact from your case chronology:

  1. On the Facts tab, open the "Edit Fact" modal by clicking the pencil icon on the fact row. Alternatively, you can double-click on the fact text to open the same window.

  2. Once the Edit Fact form is visible, click the ellipsis (three dots icon) at the top of the form.

  3. From the available options, choose the option to delete the fact. In the warning message that appears, click the confirm button to delete the fact record.

Deleting Facts or Sources in the Bulk Editor

NOTE: Only users with Administrator permissions have access to the bulk-delete feature.

Administrators can delete multiple source or fact records in bulk using the Bulk Editing tool.

First, visit either the Facts or Sources tabs in your case, then select the respective records to be deleted by checking the box to the left of the list. After you have selected the desired records, click the orange "Edit Sources/Facts" button that appears at the top-left of the page:

The bulk editing modal will display. To bulk delete the selected records, click the trash can icon, located to the right of the "Archive Sources/Facts" button.

On the confirmation dialog that appears, click "Yes. Delete sources/facts."

After confirmation, the bulk-delete task will proceed. The bulk-edit sources modal will remain on the screen until the delete task is complete. There are two possible outcomes of a bulk delete operation:

  1. If all records delete successfully, a temporary blue confirmation message will pop up on the lower-left corner of your screen.

  2. If one or more of the records selected fails or is protected from deletion, a message will be displayed indicating the number of records deleted successfully and a count for how many records could not be deleted due to errors.

Deletion Protections and Bulk Archiving

Since deleting records in CaseFleet is irreversible, we have set certain protections in place to prevent the accidental deletion of information from your case:

  • Issues, contacts, and sources that are linked to one or more facts cannot be deleted from the case unless they are first removed from all associated facts.

  • Only users with Administrator permissions have access to the bulk-delete tool.

  • The deletion must be confirmed by a final confirmation message.

As an alternative to bulk delete, CaseFleet recommends using bulk archiving for sources and facts. To learn how to bulk archive source documents click here. For instructions on bulk archiving facts, click here.

A Note about Deleting Citations via the Document Reviewer

When viewing a fact citation within the document reviewer, clicking the "delete" button will only remove the link between the fact and the cited document, as well as any associated highlights. This method does not delete the fact itself, merely the evidence citation. See above for instructions on how to delete a fact.

Did this answer your question?